Hackensack River Canoe & Kayak Club

paddling for over a third of a century
info@hrckc.org

  • IMG_0056.jpg
  • IMG_0059.jpg
  • IMG_0060.jpg
  • IMG_0063.jpg
  • IMG_0065.jpg
  • IMG_0066.jpg
  • IMG_0067.jpg
  • IMG_0068.jpg
  • IMG_0072.jpg

DownstreamPaulinskill
by Bob Rancan

Saturday, October 16, 2021

Well it did rain...right after we got off the water and were loading up under the superstructure of the Paulinskill Viaduct of the Lackawanna Cutoff, in Hainesburg. Otherwise, it was a nice mid-October day.

The old Almanacs predicted peak leaf season in the area for October 11 & 12 but as we've been noticing in recent years the woods were about as green as can be. The water level was good...1.90 at the Blairstown gauge and although we could not yet take out at the former Columbia Lake state reserve and there wasn't enough parking at Brugler Road, Knowlton Township issued me the necessary parking permits for Station Road under the Viaduct and allowed me to pick them up in the morning.

It was about as smooth a trip as could be. The woods were pretty quiet though and except for a few mergansers, Great Blue Herons and a kingfisher not much to report in the way of wildlife. Thanks to the 11 members who followed me out there and special thanks to Martin and Teri for the great photos and for Dave being Dave!

> Teri's Photos: https://photos.app.goo.gl/MDdhGCTCYcjaYXMy5

Bob

From Blairstown

Got around it

Lunch stop

Martin

Portage

UPCOMING ACTIVITIES

  • Saturday, May 21: Great Swamp, Patterson, NY
  • Monday, May 23: Belchers Creek, West Milford
  • Saturday, May 28: Rockaway River (tentative)
  • Monday, May 30: Passaic River
  • Saturday, June 4: Farmington River, New Hartford, CT
  • Monday, June 6: Greenwood Lake Launch/Lunch
  • Tuesday, June 7, 2022: Membership Meeting & Presentation (CUC)
  • Sunday, June 12: Passaic River
  • Friday-Sunday, June 24-26: VT weekend - Chittendon Reservoir
  • Friday, July 8: Lackawaxen River, Pike County, PA
  • Saturday, July 9: Cheesequake State Park, NJ
  • Saturday, July 16: Swim With Your Boat Day (tentative)
  • Sunday, July 24: Passaic River
  • Saturday, July 30: South Branch Raritan, NJ Balloonfest
  • Saturday, August 6: Delaware River - Dingmans
  • Friday-Sunday, August 12-14: Spruce Run Reservoir Weekend
  • Monday, August 15: Cedar Creek, NJ
  • Tuesday, August 30: Picnic
  • Saturday, September 10: Lackawaxen River, Pike County, PA
  • Sunday, September 18: Passaic River
  • Friday-Monday, October 7-10: Adirondack Long Weekend
  • Saturday, October 22: Fall Foliage...Paulinskill or Upper Delaware
  • Saturday, November 19: Musconetcong River

WHERE WE'VE BEEN THE PAST YEAR

  • Saturday, May 14: Housatonic River, Litchfield County, CT
  • Tuesday, May 3, 2022: Membership Meeting & Presentation (Zoom)
  • Saturday, April 30: South Branch Raritan River, Hunterdon County, NJ
  • Sunday, May 1: Spring excursion through the Wallkill River Wildlife Refuge
  • Sunday, April 24: Rockaway River
  • Friday, April 15: Paulinskill
  • Saturday, April 9: Shepaug River - Washington Depot to Roxbury, CT
  • Tuesday, April 5, 2022: Membership Meeting with Show & Tell (CUC)
  • Sunday, April 3: Wallkill
  • Saturday, March 26: North Branch, Raritan River, Somerset County, NJ
  • Sunday, March 27: High Mountain Hike 12 noon--
  • Sunday, March 20: Spring Fling 2022 (rescheduled holiday party)
  • Tuesday, March 1, 2022: Membership Meeting & Presentation (Zoom)
  • Saturday, Feb. 19: Winter Walk/Hike... River trail along Hudson from one of the NJ section Interstate Park's boat basins, either Englewood or Alpine
  • Saturday, Feb. 5: Driving and walking Tour...Westchester Bald Eagles
  • Tuesday, Feb. 1: Zoom Membership Meeting & Presentation - Caring for the National "Wild and Scenic" Musconetcong River
  • Saturday, January 22: Winter Walk...Top of the Palisades, Alpine, NJ
  • Tuesday, December 7: Membership Meeting & Presentation
  • Saturday, November 27: Musconetcong River
  • Sunday, November 14: Hackensack River
  • Saturday, November 13: Hike at Cheesequake State Park with Naturalist
  • Tuesday, November 9: Membership Meeting & Presentation
  • Sat & Sun, Nov 6-7: 2021 Mullica River Fall Paddle Camping
  • Sunday, October 31: Halloween excursion through the Wallkill National Wildlife Management Area in Sussex County, NJ
  • Saturday, October 16: Paulinskill
  • Tuesday, October 5: Membership Meeting & Presentation
  • Monday, September 13: Cedar Creek, NJ
  • Tuesday, August 24: Annual BBQ (6-9 pm)
  • SATURDAY, July 24: An upper branch of the mighty Raritan River
  • FRIDAY, July 9: LACKAWAXEN RIVER - Pike Co., PA
  • Tuesday, July 6: Membership Meeting & Presentation
  • SATURDAY, June 26: FARMINGTON RIVER - Riverton, CT
  • Tuesday, June 1: Membership Meeting & Presentation